Field Report · HELOC Lender · VerifiedPenFed HELOC Review 2026: Cost, Terms & Qualification
Assessed across four pillars
- Cost
- Structure & Flexibility
- Access & Qualification
- Trustworthiness
Weighted across four pillars: cost, structure and flexibility, access and qualification, and trustworthiness. Rates and terms verified August 19, 2026.
- PenFed is one of the few lenders offering a conventional HELOC: a 10-year draw period, no requirement to take money at closing, and interest-only payments while you draw.
- There is no origination fee and PenFed pays most closing costs, but you repay them in full if you close the line within 36 months.
- A $99 annual fee applies from the first anniversary, waived if you paid at least $99 in interest during the prior 12 months.
- You need a credit score of 680, higher than several competitors, and a minimum line of $25,000.
PenFed Credit Union offers a variable-rate home equity line of credit with a 10-year draw period, a fixed-rate lock feature, and no requirement to draw funds at closing.
This PenFed review covers its home equity line of credit only, not its mortgages, auto loans or credit cards, and is scored on our four-pillar HELOC framework. You can also see how it compares in our 10 fastest HELOC lenders roundup.
What Are PenFed’s Key Terms in 2026?
| Term | PenFed |
|---|---|
| Product type | Home equity line of credit (revolving) |
| Line amount | $25,000 to $500,000 |
| Rate type | Variable, prime-indexed, with fixed-rate advances available |
| Initial draw | None required, except Texas, where $4,000 applies |
| Draw period | 10 years, interest-only payments |
| Repayment period | 20 years. This is the only option. |
| Fixed-rate advances | Up to 3 outstanding, maximum 2 per calendar year, $10,000 minimum each |
| Min. credit score | 680 |
| Max CLTV | 85% |
| Origination fee | None |
| Annual fee | $99, waived if $99 or more in interest was paid in the prior 12 months |
| Closing costs | Paid by PenFed, recaptured in full if the line closes within 36 months |
| Appraisal | $500 to $850, only where an automated valuation cannot be used |
| Property types | Primary residence, second home, investment property |
| Availability | All 50 states and Washington, D.C. |
| Arizona available? | Yes |
All terms subject to change. Verify directly with PenFed before relying on them. Figures verified August 19, 2026.
What Are the Pros and Cons of PenFed?
Pros
- No requirement to draw funds at closing, so the line can sit unused until you need it
- Full 10-year draw period with interest-only payments
- No origination fee, and PenFed pays most closing costs
- Fixed-rate advances let you lock part of your balance against rate increases
- Available in all 50 states and D.C., on primary homes, second homes and investment properties
- Membership is open to anyone, not just military families
Cons
- $99 annual fee, higher than the $0 to $50 many lenders charge
- Closing costs are recaptured in full if you close the line within 36 months
- 680 credit score minimum, well above lenders that accept 600
- $25,000 minimum line rules out smaller projects
- The 20-year repayment period is fixed and cannot be changed
- Reviewers repeatedly describe heavy and repetitive documentation requirements
If PenFed’s credit requirement or its monthly payments don’t fit your situation, a Home Equity Investment (HEI) allows you to access cash with zero monthly payments in exchange for a share of your home’s future appreciation.
Featured Partners · No Monthly Payments
Best Overall
- Qualify in minutes. No credit impact.
- Close in as little as 3 weeks1
- Access up to $600,000
- Flexible credit terms
- Credit scores starting at ~500+
- Access up to $600,000
- MaturityMatch™ term alignment
- Keep your low-rate mortgage
- Access up to $500,000
1 “Close in as little as 3 weeks” reflects the average timeline under standard conditions. Actual timelines vary based on documentation, title, property location, and local recording or notarization requirements. Timing is not guaranteed.
Terms and conditions apply. Not all homeowners will qualify. Not available in all states. NMLS #1993600, www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org. See nada.co for complete details.
Is PenFed a Good HELOC Lender?
PenFed is the right choice if you want a line of credit that behaves like one, and the wrong choice if your credit is under 680 or you plan to close the line quickly.
Most fast digital lenders now hand you the whole balance at closing and still call it a HELOC. PenFed does not. You are approved for an amount, you draw what you need when you need it, you pay interest only on what you have drawn, and you have ten years to do it. That is the product a homeowner usually pictures, and it has become rare.
The cost of that structure is real, though. A $99 annual fee lands every year whether you use the line or not, which cuts directly against the standby reserve use case PenFed is otherwise best at. And closing within 36 months means repaying every closing cost PenFed covered on your behalf.
How Does PenFed Work?
PenFed approves a credit line you can draw from for ten years, with interest-only payments during that period and a 20-year repayment term afterward.
You join, then you apply
PenFed is a credit union, so you become a member first. Membership is open to anyone, not only to military families, and joining happens alongside the application. You then apply for the line, needing a credit score of 680 or above and at least 15% equity remaining in the property.
An automated valuation where possible
PenFed values the property, using an automated method where it can. If it cannot, an appraisal is ordered and you pay for it, roughly $500 to $850. Choosing the Express program can close the line in as few as 15 days, provided you return every document within three business days and the property qualifies for an automated valuation.
You can take nothing at all
PenFed pays most closing costs, including property search, credit report, flood certification, settlement and recording. You are not required to draw anything at closing, except in Texas where a $4,000 minimum applies. On a primary residence, federal law adds a three business day cancellation period before any funds can be released.
Ten years of access, then twenty of repayment
For ten years you borrow, repay and redraw up to your limit, paying interest only on what you owe. You can convert any draw of at least $10,000 to a fixed rate, holding up to three such advances at once and taking no more than two in a calendar year. After ten years the draw period closes and you repay the balance over twenty years.
How Affordable Is PenFed?
PenFed charges nothing upfront but carries two ongoing costs that matter more than they first appear: a $99 annual fee and a three-year closing cost recapture.
The upfront picture is genuinely good. There is no application fee and no origination fee, and PenFed covers property search, credit report, flood certification, settlement and recording. Most borrowers pay nothing at closing. An appraisal is ordered only where an automated valuation will not work, at roughly $500 to $850, and residents of Florida, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, Tennessee and Virginia may owe city, county or state taxes.
The two ongoing costs are where it tightens. The $99 annual fee is waived if you paid at least $99 in interest during the prior 12 months, which rewards carrying a balance. That creates an odd tension, because the borrower PenFed suits best is the one keeping a line open and unused, and that is precisely the borrower who pays the fee every year.
| Cost component | What to expect |
|---|---|
| Origination fee | None |
| Annual fee | $99, waived if $99 or more in interest was paid in the prior 12 months |
| Closing costs | Paid by PenFed, recaptured in full if the line closes within 36 months |
| Appraisal | $500 to $850, only where an automated valuation cannot be used |
| Taxes | Possible in FL, LA, MD, MN, NY, TN and VA |
Verified from PenFed’s published materials and reputable third-party reviews, August 19, 2026. Confirm the recapture terms in writing before you sign.
The 36-month closing cost recapture is a material term, and PenFed does not state it plainly in its own consumer materials. It is documented mainly through third-party reviews. If there is any chance you will sell or refinance within three years, get the exact dollar amount in writing before you sign.
Ask PenFed for the closing cost recapture figure in writing, including the exact dollar amount they are covering on your behalf. That number is what you would owe if you exited inside three years, and it is the single figure that decides whether this line is cheap or expensive for your situation.
How Flexible Is PenFed’s HELOC?
This is PenFed’s strongest pillar and the reason to consider it: a full 10-year draw, no forced initial draw, interest-only payments, and genuine redraw.
Nothing is required at closing except in Texas, where a $4,000 minimum draw applies. That means you can open the line, take nothing, and hold it as a reserve. During the ten-year draw period you borrow, repay and redraw up to your limit, and your minimum payment covers interest only on what you actually owe. Pay more than the minimum and the extra reduces principal, freeing that credit again.
The fixed-rate advance feature adds a second layer. On any draw of at least $10,000 you can lock a fixed rate, holding up to three such advances at once and taking no more than two in a calendar year. That gives you a way to protect part of the balance if rates climb without converting the whole line.
Two limits temper it. The $25,000 minimum line rules out smaller projects, and the $500,000 maximum sits below the largest lines available elsewhere. And the 20-year repayment period is the only option, so you cannot choose a shorter term to reduce total interest or a longer one to lower payments.
Who Can Qualify With PenFed?
PenFed lends nationwide on almost any property type, but the 680 credit minimum is the highest bar of any lender in our fastest-funding roundup.
That threshold is the deciding factor for many readers. Several competitors accept 600, so a borrower in the low 600s who could qualify elsewhere will not qualify here. Combined loan-to-value runs to 85%, meaning you need at least 15% equity remaining after the line is in place, which is mid-market rather than generous.
Where PenFed is strong is reach and property type. It lends in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., and it will lend on a primary residence, a second home or an investment property, which narrows sharply at many digital lenders. Membership is genuinely open, so the credit union structure is not a barrier.
Two constraints to plan around. PenFed does not publish a maximum debt-to-income ratio, so you will not know where you stand until you apply. And the Express program, the one that closes in as few as 15 days, excludes homes undergoing renovation, manufactured homes, co-ops and buildings with more than four units. Those properties can still qualify for a standard PenFed HELOC, just not the fast track.
On documentation, reviewers repeatedly describe having to send the same paperwork multiple times, with some applications running six weeks or longer. If your income is straightforward and you respond quickly, the Express timeline is achievable. If it is not, expect the process to take a while.
Is PenFed Trustworthy?
PenFed is a large, federally insured credit union with a long operating history, balanced by a polarized service record and one notable disclosure gap.
Founded in 1935, PenFed is the second-largest federal credit union in the United States, serving more than two million members. It lends directly under NMLS 401822, is federally insured by the NCUA, and is licensed in all 50 states and D.C. On the institutional questions, there is nothing to worry about.
The customer record is genuinely mixed. PenFed holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which measures responsiveness rather than satisfaction, alongside a customer review average of 1.18 out of 5 and roughly 450 complaints over three years. Trustpilot tells a different story: 3.8 out of 5 across about 1,920 reviews, with 77% rating five stars and 15% rating one. That polarization is the honest picture. Most members are satisfied, a meaningful minority are not, and the recurring themes are repetitive documentation, payment processing errors and identity verification friction.
One caveat matters when reading those numbers. PenFed is a full-service credit union, so most of that complaint volume relates to credit cards and auto loans rather than home equity. The mortgage-specific record is better: 22 complaints filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau about PenFed mortgage products in 2024, with a timely response to every one.
The disclosure gap is the closing cost recapture described above. It is a material term that determines what you owe if you exit within three years, and it is not stated plainly in PenFed’s own consumer materials.
Should You Choose PenFed for Your Home Equity?
PenFed is a fit if you want a line you can leave open and unused, you have credit in the high 600s or better, and you expect to keep the line beyond three years.
It is likely not the right fit if your credit is below 680, if you need less than $25,000, if you want the money immediately in one lump sum, or if there is any chance you will sell or refinance within 36 months and trigger the closing cost recapture.
Arizona homeowners should compare local credit unions on rate before deciding, since several price competitively against national lenders. See our guide to the best Arizona HELOC lenders. If you cannot meet the 680 threshold or cannot take on another monthly payment, our no monthly payment home equity guide covers the alternatives.
Need cash without an added monthly bill? Explore how a shared equity agreement works with zero monthly payments in our 2026 HEI Provider Roundup.
Featured Partners · No Monthly Payments
Best Overall
- Qualify in minutes. No credit impact.
- Close in as little as 3 weeks1
- Access up to $600,000
- Flexible credit terms
- Credit scores starting at ~500+
- Access up to $600,000
- MaturityMatch™ term alignment
- Keep your low-rate mortgage
- Access up to $500,000
1 “Close in as little as 3 weeks” reflects the average timeline under standard conditions. Actual timelines vary based on documentation, title, property location, and local recording or notarization requirements. Timing is not guaranteed.
Terms and conditions apply. Not all homeowners will qualify. Not available in all states. NMLS #1993600, www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org. See nada.co for complete details.
PenFed FAQ
Do you have to be in the military to join PenFed?
Does PenFed require you to draw money at closing?
What credit score do you need for a PenFed HELOC?
Can you get a fixed rate with PenFed?
What happens if you close a PenFed HELOC early?
How fast can PenFed close a HELOC?
How We Rate HELOC Lenders
EquitySquirrel scores every HELOC lender on four core pillars, applied consistently across all lenders, to produce a 1 to 5 rating rounded to one decimal.
- Origination fee and total fee load
- Annual fee and closing cost treatment
- Rate structure and pricing transparency
- Line access structure: initial draw, draw window, payments during the draw
- Redraw ability and line size range
- Fixed-rate advance option
- Credit score, CLTV and DTI
- Income documentation flexibility
- Property types and state availability
- Complaint and review pattern
- Disclosure clarity
- Licensing and originator status
How we collect and verify data
We build each score from primary sources first: lender disclosures, pricing and licensing pages, supplemented by reputable third-party reviews for reputation signals only. Every figure carries a dated verification stamp and is re-checked on a recurring basis. Because HELOC pricing moves with the prime rate, every review shows the date its terms were verified.
Every rate, fee and timeline we publish is the lender’s own disclosed figure, presented as a claim. We do not test funding speed and we do not state a funding time in our own voice.
Scores compare lenders within our HELOC methodology only. They are not a measure of your approval odds, a guarantee of the pricing you will be offered, or a comparison with home equity investment providers, which we score on a separate framework.
Editorial independence
Our rating is determined solely by this methodology and is not influenced by any affiliate or partner relationship. No lender pays for a score, a review, or a position in our rankings. We are an independent education platform, not a lender, and we disclose every negative we find, including for companies we have a commercial relationship with.
Educational, not financial advice
This PenFed review is general educational information, not personalized financial, tax, or legal advice. A home equity line of credit is a significant decision secured by your home, and the right choice depends on your individual circumstances. Consider consulting a qualified financial, tax, or legal professional, and confirm all current terms directly with the lender, before applying.
